

MINUTES

EXTRAORDINARY COUNCIL MEETING

held at the Civic Centre, Dee Why on

TUESDAY 16 MAY 2023



16 MAY 2023

Minutes of an Extraordinary Council Meeting held on Tuesday 16 May 2023 at the Civic Centre, Dee Why Commencing at 6:03pm

ATTENDANCE:

Councillors

Kristyn Glanville David Walton Candy Bingham Miranda Korzy Michael Gencher Rory Amon Michael Regan (Mayor until election) Sue Heins (Deputy Mayor until election, Mayor following election) Vincent De Luca OAM Stuart Sprott Bianca Crvelin Ruth Robins Jose Menano-Pires Sarah Grattan Georgia Ryburn

Officers

Louise Kerr Interim Chief Executive Officer Jeff Smith **Director Corporate & Legal** David Kerr **Director Community & Belonging Director Environment & Sustainability** Todd Dickinson Azmeena Kelly Acting Director Planning & Place Karen Twitchett Director Workforce & Technology Jorde Frangoples **Director Transport & Assets Executive Manager Governance & Risk** Sarah Dunstan Lesley Milbourne Manager Governance Anna Moore Senior Advisor Governance Senior Advisor Governance Lauren Reti Senior Advisor Governance Mat Maish **Michael Meadows** Team Leader, Service Desk

Notes

The meeting commenced at 6:03pm and concluded at 6:40pm



16 MAY 2023

Table of Contents

1.0	Acknowledgement of Country	4
2.0	Apologies and Applications for Leave of Absence and Remote Attendance	4
3.0	Disclosures of Interest	4
6.0	Mayoral Minutes	4
6.1	Mayoral Minute No 3/2023 - Mayor, Michael Regan, MP for Wakehurst - Resignation from the Office of Mayor	
7.0	Chief Executive Officer's Division Reports	4
7.1	Election of Mayor	4



1.0 ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF COUNTRY

NOTE: The Mayor acknowledged the traditional custodians of the land on which the meeting gathered, and paid respect to Elders past, present and emerging.

2.0 APOLOGIES AND APPLICATIONS FOR LEAVE OF ABSENCE AND REMOTE ATTENDANCE

Nil

3.0 DISCLOSURES OF INTEREST

Nil

6.0 MAYORAL MINUTES

6.1 MAYORAL MINUTE NO 3/2023 - MAYOR, MICHAEL REGAN, MP FOR WAKEHURST -RESIGNATION FROM THE OFFICE OF MAYOR

111/23 **RESOLVED**

Cr Regan

That Council note the Mayoral Minute and ask the Interim Chief Executive Officer to convey my sincere thanks to the staff of the Northern Beaches Council.

VOTING

FOR: Unanimous

CARRIED

7.0 CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER'S DIVISION REPORTS

7.1 ELECTION OF MAYOR

NOTE 1: At the meeting of 23 May 2023 the minutes of the Extraordinary Council Meeting of 16 May 2023 were adopted with the inclusion of the election information in Note 2

NOTE 2: Election of Mayor

3 valid nominations were received and accepted as follows:

- Cr Bingham nominated by Cr Regan and Cr Korzy
- Cr Heins nominated by Cr Grattan and Cr Gencher
- Cr Walton nominated by Cr Crvelin and Cr Ryburn



16 MAY 2023

Round 1 - Open voting to elect the Mayor was as follows:

Cr Bingham: Cr Bingham, Cr De Luca, Cr Glanville, Cr Korzy = 4

Cr Heins: Cr Heins, Cr Gencher, Cr Regan, Cr Robins, Cr Grattan, Cr Menano-Pires = 6

Cr Walton: Cr Walton, Cr Amon, Cr Sprott, Cr Crvelin, Cr Ryburn = 5

• Cr Bingham, having the lowest number of votes, was excluded.

Round 2 - An open vote for the remaining candidates was as follows:

- Cr Heins: Cr Heins, Cr Gencher, Cr Menano-Pires, Cr Glanville, Cr Bingham, Cr Korzy, Cr Regan, Cr Robins, Cr Grattan = 9
- Cr Walton: Cr Walton, Cr Amon, Cr De Luca, Cr Sprott, Cr Crvelin, Cr Ryburn = 6
 - Cr Walton, having the lowest number of votes, was excluded.

Cr Heins, having the majority of votes was declared the Mayor and assumed the Chair

112/23 RESOLVED

Cr Korzy / Cr Gencher

That:

- 1. Council determine the method of voting for the election of the Mayor for the balance of the current Mayoral term which ends in September 2023 to be conducted by open voting.
- 2. Nominations be called for candidates for the Office of Mayor for the balance of the current Mayoral term which ends in September 2023.
- 3. The election of the Mayor for the balance of the current Mayoral term which ends in September 2023 be held in accordance with the provisions of the Local Government (General) Regulation 2021.

VOTING

FOR: Unanimous

CARRIED

The meeting concluded at 6:40pm

This is the final page of the minutes comprising 5 pages numbered 1 to 5 of the Extraordinary Council Meeting held on Tuesday 16 May 2023 and confirmed on Tuesday 23 May 2023

Mayor

Interim Chief Executive Officer